Many jobs, even seemingly safe ones, pose the risk of workplace injuries. For workers who do suffer on-the-job injuries, the process of recovering compensation can be intimidating. Workers may not know what their rights are, or are worried about repercussions from their employers if they file a claim.
At The Law Offices of Alan, Hildreth, King & Associates, we have helped numerous clients navigate the workers’ compensation system and recover the benefits they are entitled to under the law. If you are injured on the job, contact us today for your free consultation.
Benefits Provided By Workers’ Compensation Insurance
It is important to understand the types of benefits that you can recover if you are injured on the job. Under Massachusetts’ workers’ compensation laws, benefits include:
- Payment of medical expenses. You are entitled to compensation for the cost of all medical expenses related to your injury that are reasonable and necessary. This includes emergency costs, doctors’ visits, medications, rehabilitation, etc.
- Payment for lost wages. You are also entitled to compensation for your lost wages up to a certain amount. If you cannot return to work due to your injury for five or more days, you will be allowed to collect compensation at a rate of 60 percent of your average weekly pay.
- Reimbursement for travel costs to medical appointments. You will be reimbursed for the mileage that you incur when traveling to and from medical appointments.
- Compensation for disability. If you suffer a disability, you may be entitled to receive compensation to help you recover the training you need to gain new employment, compensate you for your loss of use of a body part, etc.
- Death benefits. In the event that a workplace injury results in death, surviving family members can seek compensation for lost wages and and burial expenses.
How to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim
If you are injured on the job, it is important that you notify your employer of your injury immediately. Your employer is legally obligated to file a First Report of Injury form with the insurance company within 5 days of your missed work. Your employer is legally obligated to file a First Report of Injury form with the insurance company within seven days of your missed work. However, you need to make sure this form is filed, and take responsibility if your employer fails to do so. If your employer does not file a First Report of Injury, then you should report the injury to your employer’s workers’ compensation insurer. The insurer is required under law to respond to your claim within 14 calendar days. If they approve your claim, you will be paid; if they deny your claim, you have the right to appeal this decision.
How Our Massachusetts Workers’ Compensation Lawyer Can Help
Our experienced Revere workers’ compensation lawyers have seen workers’ compensation claims go south all too often. In order to save money, an insurance company may deny your claim, or refuse to pay you the benefit amount you deserve. In some cases, an employer may even retaliate against an employee who files a claim.
When this occurs, you need a legal advocate on your side who isn’t afraid to stand up for your rights. Our lawyers have the reputation of success you can count on, and are committed to helping you. Contact us today for your free consultation.