If you’re involved in a car accident with an uninsured driver in Massachusetts, taking the proper steps immediately afterward can help to preserve your right to compensation.
When you leave for work in the morning, are heading home after a long day, or are hopping in your car for a weekend getaway, the last thing you expect is to be involved in a car accident. Yet in the blink of an eye, the negligence of another driver on the road can leave you with high costs and serious injuries. And while you may initially assume that you can file a claim against the other driver’s insurance, what happens if the at-fault driver is uninsured?
Fortunately, there are protections in place for those who are harmed in accidents caused by uninsured drivers. Be sure to take the following steps immediately after your accident to preserve your right to compensation–
- File a Police Report
Whenever a car crash occurs, filing a police report is a crucial first step. If you don’t have a police report to verify the accident, then you will be unable to pursue a claim against the insurer. A police report can also be useful in establishing fault, as it may include important details about how the accident happened.
- Seek Medical Care
Just like filing a police report, seeking medical care is necessary, even if you don’t think that your injuries are serious. If you don’t seek medical care and later make an injury claim, it will be difficult to establish the relationship between your injuries and your car crash.
- Notify Your Insurer
If you are involved in an accident, especially an accident with an uninsured driver, you need to notify your insurer of the accident as soon as possible, and preferably within the first 24-48 hours after the accident occurs. Your insurer maintains the right to investigate your accident, and can deny your claim if you wait too long to provide notice.
- Review Your Policy
If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, then the best way to recover compensation for your personal injuries and property damage costs will most likely be to file a claim against your own insurance policy. As such, you need to be very familiar with the coverage that you have. In Massachusetts, personal injury protection in an amount of $8,000 per person, per accident is required, as is uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in an amount of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. These are the required minimums – you may have more coverage depending on your policy type.
- Contact a Lynn Car Accident Attorney
Finally, just because you’ve paid your premiums on time and have a great driving record does not mean that your insurance company will be eager to pay out your claim in full. In fact, insurance companies are typically most interested in saving money, and may deny or lowball your claim as such. To protect you against unscrupulous insurance practices and to improve your chances of recovering your maximum compensation award, you need the representation of a skilled Lynn car accident attorney.
At The Law Offices of Alan Hildreth King & Associates, our car accident lawyers have the know-how and experience you need to recover your maximum compensation award. Call our law firm today or send us a message online to request your free consultation.